The Chicken Bus

image

I don’t know why some people call it the chicken bus.  It IS a local, rattle-trap kind of  bus but, in the three years I have used it, I have yet to see one chicken (at least of the feathered variety) on it.  But the crucifix does cause me to begin humming a tune from “Cool Hand Luke.”  In case any of you have forgotten the particular ditty to which I refer, I include the lyrics here for your enjoyment:

“Well, I don’t care if it rains or freezes, long as I got my plastic Jesus, sittin’ on the dashboard of my car.
Comes in colors, pink and pleasant, glows in the dark cause it’s irridescent
Take it with you when you travel far.
Get yourself a sweet Madonna, dressed in rhinestones sittin’ on a pedestal of abalone shell
Goin’ ninety, I ain’t scary, ’cause I’ve got the Virgin Mary, assurin’ me that I won’t go to Hell.
Get yourself a sweet Madonna, dressed in rhinestones sittin’ on a pedestal of abalone shell
Goin’ ninety, I ain’t scary, ’cause I’ve got the Virgin Mary, assurin’ me that I won’t go to Hell.”

This entry was posted in Mexico 2016, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

