Tanzania: A Sensory Assault

In addition to the fact that I don’t have a WIFI connection, the biggest difficulty in writing posts for this trip is figuring out how to structure them. Like the continent, the possibilities are almost infinite. Do I go with an “obvious to obscure” approach, beginning with the landscape with its incredible vistas and ending with some information about the mineral content of the water around Nbutu? Or, would a better approach be to focus on the animal kingdom starting with the elephant and ending with a tiny but beautifully iridescent dung beetle that we saw manfully pushing his ball of dung along the ground? In many ways, those are just two variations on the same theme. And I don’t really want to use either of them.

Instead, I have decided to tackle this project by treating Tanzania as an assault on all five senses, which it absolutely is. So, sight, sound, touch, taste and smell, these are the elements that I am going to try to use to make some sort of (singular) sense out of this experience. I don’t promise to hold myself to strictly to this theme but it will be my general guiding principle. Okay?

Image

Well, then, I suppose I should get started. The next post will tackle the sense of touch . . . or maybe not.  Maybe given the photo, it should be on taste. Mmmmmmmm.

This entry was posted in Animal Kingdom, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

