Happiness is an Ice Cream Bar

imageMichael and I had the great pleasure of traveling several times over the past ten years with my mom and my Auntie Billee.  The first time we were in Italy, in 2002, we discovered Magnum Double Caramel Ice Cream Bars. Oh, my gosh!!  From the first bite we were in love with their luscious, rich, sticky deliciousness.

When we weren’t eating artisan gelato as a treat, we were slurping up a double caramel.  It became one of our great, small pleasures and we frequently daydreamed about getting a distributorship for them for the states.  Alas, like many of our great ice cream stupor induced plans, it came to naught.  It remained a treat for travel.

Then, a couple of years ago, an astonishing thing happened:  Magnum Double Caramel Bars began showing up in freezer compartments in stores around the USA.  Well, it was a short hop from the Fred Meyer freezer compartment to the freezer compartment of my mom’s fridge.  Quantities were kept somewhat in check up until recently when my mom began losing bits of her short term memory.

Before I arrived in Fairbanks for this trip, I had been warned that the supply of ice cream bars at mom’s house had begun to overtake demand.  I guess I’m not the only master of understatement in this family!!  Mom has bought so many cartons of Magnums that she has had to take the individual bars out of the boxes in order to tuck them into any available nook and cranny in the freezer.  I don’t see any boxes stashed out on her patio, though, so things can’t be all that bad.

Now, I know that some of my siblings might find this development alarming but having traveled with mom and savored these treats, I find the situation poignantly, as well as actually, sweet.  I know that when mom is standing in front of the freezer compartment at Freddie’s and is gazing at the selection of Magnums she is momentarily transported back to Italy with her little sister and her daughter, anticipating yet another wonderful adventure.  Thank goodness for intact long term memories.

And if mom’s declining short term memory means that she can’t remember she bought a three pack a couple of days before, who cares?  I’ll do my part to decrease the supply even if I have to stir one of the ice cream bars into my coffee each morning . . . actually, that sounds wonderful, doesn’t it?  A Magnum Double Caramel Ice Cream Mocha.  Now, that’s an idea that I should jump on before Starbucks steals it from me!

This entry was posted in Family, Food and Drink, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happiness is an Ice Cream Bar

  1. claire christensen says:

    Just got an email from our trusty guide to NOT eat the ice cream in Vietnam. It’s not going to be Italy!
    We leave on Tuesday. I’m going to try to get a few pictures and comments out of my iPad.
    See you in March.
    Love C and D

  2. SUSIE FUCHS says:

    now i’m on the “magnum” alert!!! maybe you can design a phone app to locate where they are !!! xox

    Susie Fuchs szq811@aol.com

  3. Dana Richter says:

    Hi Virginia, and Micheal,
    It’s time for me to make a visit to Claire………while she still has a supply of Magnum Double Caramel Ice Cream! Looking forward to traveling along with you on that African Safari.
    Dana

Leave a Reply

