Italian Post Script

SeaTac, Monday, October 1

Just a couple of hours after Heather and Judy left us on Friday, I began developing a sore throat, which, instead of disappearing during the day or overnight as they usually do, developed into a full-fledged cold.  So, Saturday, instead of being an pleasant, leisurely drive to our final night in Rome, was sort of a slow slog.

This is me with my cold, eating Michael alive!

Because we had lots of time between our 10 a.m. check out in Narni and our 2 or 3 p.m. check in at our hotel in Rome, we did make one detour to Bomarzo to see the Park of Monsters, a garden of gargantuan, weird sculptures, created by some crazy Orsini in the 16th century who, like so many of those folk, had more money than sense.  Apparently, the sculptures are all allegorical and should make one pause and think about one’s life or some such nonsense.  But, I was so congested all I could really think about was where my next breath and soft kleenex were coming from.  Not an entirely successful visit.

And, when I booked our hotel in the town of Fiumicino, on the sea, I had visions of Michael and I spending our last Italian night wandering the sea front, having dinner in a romantic seaside restaurant.  The reality was somewhat different and let’s just leave it at that.  I know I share a lot but some misery has to be held close to oneself and enjoyed.

At least he got some action before his flight.

However, as miserable as I was and as uncomfortable a night I spent, I was still in better shape than this guy who was standing in front of us at the airport to go through passport control.

And, Susie, you know that this photo is particularly for you!

Since trips have to come to a close, I’m very glad to be almost home and am looking forward to a quick recovery and getting back on the track of healthy living.  After all, it’s only a couple of weeks before we head to Alaska to celebrate my mom’s 90th birthday and then just a few months until we head to Africa!!

This entry was posted in Accommodations, Frustration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Italian Post Script

  1. susan fuchs says:

    It just goes to show ya…some things are universal!!!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

