La Bella Lingua

If I have a smile on my face it is because I am pleasantly surprised at the amount of Italian I am able to dredge up here in Italy and spit out at the appropriate times.

At Pincio in the Borghese Garden.

Everything doesn’t come out exactly right and I am often fumbling for words but, all in all, I feel as though I can semi-communicate.  On our ride into Rome, our driver was very encouraging and complementary . . . of course, he does earn his living driving people like me.  And, our host in Rome, Nino, was very encouraging and complementary . . . of course, he, too, earns his living by catering to people like me.  And, then, shortly after we arrived at Podere Cunina near Buonconvento in Tuscany, our hostess, Silvana told me that I wonderful pronunciation . . . shoot, she’s pretty much in my pocket, as well.  Hmmmm, do I detect a theme here.

Well, regardless of how well I actually speak, it feels good to be using the language again however ept or inept I might be.

This entry was posted in Education and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to La Bella Lingua

  1. susan fuchs says:

    Trust me……you’re EPT!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

